AMplify ep 31: Live at the AM — 2017 Eureka Prizes Launch

By: Madelaine Love, Category: Museullaneous, Date: 20 Apr 2017

A live panel discussion with former Eureka Prize winners, hosted by Robyn Williams.

Eureka Prize winners panel

Eureka Prize winners panel
Photographer: Tim Levy © Australian Museum

In this live recording hosted by The Science Show's Robyn Williams, Dr Michael Bowen, Dr Richard Major, Professor Angela Moles and Sonya Pemberton share their Eureka Prize-winning work and discuss the big issues facing Australian science.

This lively panel discussion covers a diverse range of topics including psycho-pharmacology, rapid evolution in introduced plant species, making compelling and challenging science documentaries, science in the era of Trump and the importance of building curiosity in the world from a young age.

Our panellists for the evening were:

  • Dr. Michael Bowen, School of Psychology, University of Sydney
  • Dr. Richard Major, Senior Research Scientist, Australian Museum Research Institute
  • Professor Angela Moles, Big Ecology Lab, UNSW Australia and; 
  • Journalist and producer Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of research, innovation, leadership, science communication and school science.

The 2017 Eureka Prize finalists will be announced at the end of July and winners at the end of August.

0:00 – 13:50 Introduction from Kim McKay AO, Executive Director and CEO, Australian Museum

13:50 – 50:10 Panel discussion hosted by Robyn Williams

50:10 – 55:00 Close from Kim McKay AO, Executive Director and CEO, Australian Museum